Ceramics Has a History?

Standard

In my first Ceramics course, our final project had to do with ceramic pieces made in a certain time period in the past. I was looking up some dated pieces online and found Ancient Egyptian Pottery. Some of the ancient Egyptian pottery included canopic jars which were used by the Ancient Egyptians during the mummification process to store and preserve the viscera  of their owner for the afterlife. I really like the contrast between the lid and the bottom of the jars. The bottoms are really simple and the lids are detailed. Most pottery made in ancient times was functional and served a purpose, as these jars did. It really makes me think about the functionality of the pieces I am making, and the different purposes they can serve.

canopic jars

cano

Leave a comment